an AMAZING NYC trip =D

First off…I LOVE my girls. =D Thank you wifey Liz, Diana, Christina, Sarah, and Stella for waking yourselves up at the butt crack of dawn and getting yourselves to my house at 6am to leave for NYC, walking for blocks on end with me, supporting me through all the craziness I put you through for this wedding…=P And VaGINA~<3 ur boobies. Hannah unni…I just LOVE you *MUAH*

I got us up to NYC in 3 hours…hehehe…and we parked on Essex and Delancey in a municipal parking garage…cost me $18.75 for parking from 10am-8pm…=D

The J Train is right there so we hopped onto that and made our way to Alice’s Tea Cup 2 (156 East 64th Street, New York, NY‎ – (212) 486-9200‎) to find out it’s PACKED and we’d have to wait 2.5 hours to get a table. So instead, we grab a couple of their DELICIOUS Scones…

Pumpkin and Butterscotch Chip which are shown here and Blueberry Cream Cheese and Strawberry Oatmeal which aren’t shown here. ABSOLUTELY delicious. Def recommend. and headed over to Silver Star Diner on Lexington and 3rd to have brunch with Hannah unni<3 Thanks for brunch unni!

fun times to be had by all…

We had scones to eat so most of us shared meals…wifey and I  shared the Eggs Benedict…yummmmm

We then headed over to the Garment District

on the way we stumbled across Crumbs Bakery where vaGINA suggested cupcakes….

From Top: Blueberry, Red Velvet and Blueberry again, Raspberry, and Pistachio. Not like your ordinary cupcake that you get at any cupcake store…these babies have fillings in the middle…the fruit fillings were absolutely divine and hands down the best part of the cupcake. The icing was too sweet and the cupcake was a good consistency, moist but crumbly. =D

we took the subway from Silver Star Diner and took some pictures…I gravitated toward…

the pink hat of course…

and then decided the bowler hat fit me better…

When we got to the garment district we headed to M&J Trimming (1008 Sixth Ave, New York, NY – (212)391-6200, www.mjtrim.com)

where I bought ribbon for the tissue pomanders to hang on the pews in the sanctuary. =D I also found out they have a bridal section in the store with an entire WALL of lace and plain veils you can buy and make your own veils. I will be taking Momma Kim up next time. =D

M&J Trimming was a suggestion from Hannah unni as well as RK Bridal. RK Bridal (318 West 39th Street, New York, NY‎ – (212) 947-1155‎) is a MADHOUSE. It was a big warehouse room with just racks and racks of wedding/prom/bridesmaid dresses. There were lines wrapping around the store of girls just trying to get a dressing room to try on dresses. The girls didn’t want to wait in line so they just tried on the dresses over their clothes…bahahaha

*Photography is not allowed in the store, but we snuck a couple…SHHHHHHHHHHHH!!

hehehehehe…Chris…i REALLY like the blue one on you. Sars…the halter one. =D

After leaving that madhouse…we headed to Kleinfeld’s…on the way, we found this Pashmina store…I was going to look for Pashminas as part of the Bridesmaid gifts for my girls…so we walked in to see if we could find the color I wanted. Lo and Behold…

We find the right color…the lady gives me a deal…she told me $30 for a dozen…yes…that’s 12…pashminas. $3 each if I buy half a dozen ($18) or $5 apiece if I buy separately…I bought a dozen FOSHO! $2.50 a pashmina!!!!! So I bought 6 of this pink (one for each of the Bridesmaids, one for me, and one for Momma Kim for the day of the wedding…we will be MATCHING! =D) and the other 6 were split between me and Sars…Sars got 2 other colors and I picked 4 other colors as well…=D

*The boxes on the Pashmina I will explain a bit later in the post…

@ Kleinfeld’s DIANNE BARBARO from Say Yes to the Dress on TLC was my consultant. Woman looks scary as mess on TV but she’s the sweetest, most down to earth lady who is AMAZING at dress picking. *I’ll post a picture of me with her when I get it. =D

*again no Photography at Kleinfeld’s so no dress pics. I also didn’t film for Say Yes to the Dress because they wanted Momma Kim to be there for it (she didn’t come with us) and there were too many girls with me yesterday. =(

**I think I have found it. Which is why I say she’s AMAZING at dress picking. The first dress she picked might be the one we go with…gonna try to take Momma Kim up for a Mother/Daughter NYC trip next month to see it. =D

The appointment was supposed to last 1.5 hours…it literally took her 15 minutes to find me the dress and we were out of there within an hour of the start of the appointment…again…Dianne Barbaro is AMAZING.

saying goodbye for now to our ❤ vaGINA our fashionista<3

So we headed to my favorite place to eat in NYC…Joe’s Shanghai Midtown (24 West 56th Street, New York, NY‎ – (212) 333-3868‎)

We took the subway again to get to Joe’s Midtown from Kleinfeld’s where Stella suggested we start singing in the train to get some change/toll money…we did not sing…BAHAHAHA but we did take some pictures….

so tired at this point…but still tried to have fun…hence the fake smile on my face…hahahaahhaa Liz and I look so enthused…=P

Joe’s Shanghai Midtown…I ❤ U!

the almighty Crab and Pork Soup Dumpling that has this power over me…I crave it as soon as I leave the restaurant…and continue to crave it until I go back to NYC…

so beautiful…we got 5 orders of these babies for the 6 of us (Diana, Christina, Sarah, Liz, Stella, and me), 2 orders of Shanghai Fried Rice, and an order of Shrimp and Chicken in Plum Sauce. The first 4 orders of Soup Dumplings came out first…we INHALED them within 10 minutes. SOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOD…*DROOOOOOOOOOOOL*

girls enjoying the deliciousness that is Joe’s Shanghai. =D

Since we had gotten to Joe’s a little earlier than we had planned due to Dianne Barbaro’s AWESOMENESS…we had time to head back down to Soho/Noho/Chinatown for Rice to Riches for dessert. yummmmm…

On the way, we stumbled across a marketplace in Noho. It was just a big room where mostly jewelry artists were selling their wares. Stella was looking at some necklaces at a table so I headed over and found the Bridesmaid’s next gift…their wedding jewelry…

The Cameo sisters were so cool about customizing the necklaces to the length that the girls wanted them. Eli, yours was customized by me. I also bought myself a bracelet from them. =D

In the same marketplace, I found THE PERFECT T-shirt for Jae. A black American Apparel T-shirt that had “I ❤ Ketchup” screen printed onto it. If you didn’t know already…Jae eats ketchup with everything, or shall I say everything with ketchup…the only person I know that asks for ketchup instead of steak sauce to eat with his steak…-_-; so I bought him that ones…and for Eli, I found a white American Apparel T-shirt with “Pooping is cool” screen printed onto it. you’re quite welcome Eli. =D

We then continued on our way to Rice to Riches…Cho “sisters” (Diana CHO, Christina CHO, Stella CHO) have an aversion to Rice Pudding…so they went next door to Pinkberry while wifey, Sars and I enjoyed…

Coast to Coast Cheesecake Rice pudding with Busted Roast peaches

and Vanilla Rice pudding with Busted Roast Strawberries

Ring shots! hehehe~

After that we headed home…It took us FOREVER to get home because of construction on the highways…=(

I’ll update with more pictures as I get them from Liz. =D

I got so much accomplished this trip, so thank you so much girls for coming with me…the weather was also GORGEOUS and PERFECT…can’t thank God enough for that…it made the trip up THAT MUCH BETTER!

5 responses to “an AMAZING NYC trip =D

  1. OMG… no more pictures of food. You are making me SO HUNGRY!

  2. you know what….i’m craving those soup dumplings….esther…what have you gotten me into!!!!!! do me a favor and never ever ever ever let me know how they are made. thanks. =P

  3. i also bought my dress from Dianne at Kleinfeld 6 months ago and she was fantastic. what did you mean though when you said she was “scary as mess” as i thought she was beautiful (*_*)

    • The TLC Show, Say Yes to the Dress, makes her look scary and all business like. So I was pleasantly surprised that she was so down to earth and sweet and definitely beautiful. =D

Leave a comment